How To Make a Red Heart Shimmer Head Band

Shimmer1

You may or may not know this about me, but I really enjoy sparkles and glitter.  I think the more shimmer, shine, and glitz something has the better.  Whether that be in fashion, home decor, or simply when you need a gift for a friend.
Shimmer6Shimmer5
One of my favorite yarns to work with is RED HEART SHIMMER.  Red Heart Shimmer combines beautiful rich solid shades, or variegated colors, with a matching thread of metallic to give it just a hint of sparkle. This yarn is available in 15 different colors.  It is a size 4 worsted weight yarn and comes in balls of 240 yards.  For this particular project I used a size “I”, 5.5 mm crochet hook.
Shimmer3
I wanted to make a gift for 2 friends and I needed something rather quickly.  These headbands can be worked up in less than 2 hours.
Supplies needed:
Size “I” 5.50mm crochet hook
1 ball of Red Heart Shimmer
 
Headband Pattern,
 
Leaving a 6 inch tail, make a slip knot, chain 14,
In 3rd chain from hook, dc and *dc all the way to the end.
 
Repeat until you have a piece which measures 18 or 19 inches.  You can keep trying this on your head to get the correct measurement.
Shimmer4
 
Leaving a long tail, approximately 12 inches, cut and slip stitch piece together. Voila, you know have a headband.  I made these sort of wide so they can keep your ears warm.
 
Shimmer1
 
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.  I made 2 and gave them away.  These make fabulous gifts.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go make one for myself.
Happy Stitching!!!
xoxo Janice 🙂
Leave a Reply

