Food Truck Fridays – The Steamy Bun Truck

SteamyBun2.jpg

With a name like “Steamy Bun” I just knew I had to try this food truck! They have a cute name, a cute logo and equally cute food.

SteamyBun1.jpg

They always say you eat with your eyes first. I was attracted to the neat little packages that surround your choice of meat. The buns in this case have the texture of the kind you get when you order “cha siu bao” from a Chinese restaurant.

I got the special, which consisted of 2 buns and a bottled water for $12. I decided to go with the Foo Burger and the Traditional Pork Belly. The Foo Burger is an Angus beef patty, infused with soy sauce, hoisin sauce, sesame oil, some spices and topped with tomato and cucumber. They use mayo and Thai chili sauce to flavor the bun. To me it just tasted like a quality hamburger with cucumbers on top. I just remember the strong cucumber flavor. (Which wasn’t bad because I like cucumbers)

The Traditional Pork Belly consists of slow oven braised belly garnished with pickled mustard, cilantro, crushed sugared peanuts, hoisin sauce and sriracha sauce.

SteamyBun9.jpgSteamyBun4.jpg

Last time I ate off this truck I got the chicken katsu and the BBQ Pork and shared eggs rolls with my friends. The chicken katsu was a deep fried breaded chicken thigh with pickled carrots, radish, cilantro and tonkatsu sauce. Tonkatsu sauce usually contains ketchup, soy sauce, rice wine, sugar and garlic. The BBQ pork had the traditional BBQ pork flavor that you would find at a Chinese restaurant and the egg rolls were small, compact and wound tight. They had a very good crunchy texture.

SteamyBun5.jpg

Although those were both good I must say I enjoyed the traditional pork belly even more! It was really flavorful. I asked owner of the truck Joseph Foo, to please omit the sriracha sauce because I am not a big fan of sriracha. So he gave me extra hoisin sauce and it was delicious! He shared with me that the pork belly is his Mom’s secret recipe.

SteamyBun12.jpgSteamyBun6.jpg

When you are lucky enough to find this truck you can try flavors from Chinese, Vietnamese, Filipino and Taiwanese cultures. Check out theses photos

SteamyBun10.jpgSteamyBun11.jpgSteamyBun3.jpg

My recommendation is that you order the Traditional Pork Belly. It might sound exotic and even a bit scary, but it is soooooooo worth every bite!!!

4 thoughts on “Food Truck Fridays – The Steamy Bun Truck

  1. Sounds good, but I’ll have to find something without the cilantro. I’ve never been a fan of the taste it leaves in your mouth.

    Great foodie Friday article!

    • Natalie, you can ask them to omit the cilantro. I asked them to leave off the Sriracha (because I’m not a fan of sriracha)

  2. Very interesting article. Makes you want to try it. How do you find the best trucks?

    Charlene

Leave a Reply

