Taco Bell’s Waffle Taco Review

WaffleTaco1.jpg

I’m usually NEVER awake early enough to get breakfast at any fast-food establishment, however this morning , even though we had a day off from work,my body clock wouldn’t allow me to sleep. So what did I do? I burst into my roommate’s room and yelled, “WAKE UP, we’re going to Taco Bell to try their new WAFFLE TACO!!!

It was 7:00am!!!

He was confused because I was already dressed, with full make-up on (I anticipated many photos would be taken and I didn’t want to scare my dear readers by having a non-make-up face.)

So with both of us barely able to keep our eyes open, I drove to Taco Bell. For some reason we were the only ones there on a Saturday morning. (Mind you it’s now about 7:15am)

Because I take photos of almost everything, I was thrilled we were the only customers in the place. I took photos of the signs advertising the food, I took photos of the food itself, and I had my roommate take a few photos of me too.

Here are the signs for the Waffle Taco, A.M. Crunchwrap and Cinnabon Delights.

WaffleTaco1.jpgWaffleTaco2.jpgWaffleTaco3.jpg

Get ready for it……..Here is a photo of the WAFFLE TACO!!!  The top of the box, what’s inside, and me taking the first bite, and me pretending to like it.

WaffleTaco4.jpgWaffleTaco5.jpg

The Waffle Taco comes with a syrup package so you can have the whole sweet/salty flavor sensation all at once. I made my roommate take the first bite, I was too chicken. He didn’t say anything and then handed me the Waffle Taco. I carefully examined it and I’m already not happy, it contains scrambled eggs (of which I’m NOT a huge fan), a sausage patty and some cheese, folded up into a waffle. For some reason the waffle is sort of soft and lacks the crunchy texture of a waffle that I could make at home in the toaster. The sausage is greasy, and it has cheese. So I take a bite, here are 2 photos of me, notice the expression on my face in the 2nd photo? I’m pretending to like it, if you know me, you know that’s a phony smile.

WaffleTaco6.jpgWaffleTaco7.jpg

We also tried an A.M. Crunchwrap, which consists of hash browns, your choice of sausage, bacon, or steak, some cheese and some sauce presented very neatly in a grilled tortilla which they shape into a pinwheel. Now THIS WAS YUMMY!!! I found it to be too big for one person to eat, so we shared it. The A.M. Crunchwrap was indeed crunchy and the flavors blended well together.

WaffleTaco8.jpgWaffleTaco9.jpg

Since we are both NEVER awake this early on a weekend we decided to go all out and try the Cinnabon Delights too. You can either purchase 4 or 12 there is no in between. It’s one extreme or the other. Personally I think they should sell them in a set of 2, because 2 is all you really need. The best way I can describe these little balls of dough is to say I found them to be a cross between the flavors of a churro, with a donut hole, with some serious frosting on the inside. So BE CAREFULL when you bite into these. You might burn your mouth due to the piping hot frosting inside. Overall these are really good, but sweet, so you only need 1 or 2 at the most. I have no idea WHY they sell them in a 12 pack, they are only good if you can get them piping hot!!! And really, who needs 12 of these?!

WaffleTaco10.jpgWaffleTaco11.jpg

All in all the A.M. Crunchwrap was my favorite breakfast item, but I encourage you to try out the Waffle Taco if you like scrambled eggs. It was an interesting experience.

WaffleTaco12.jpg

3 thoughts on “Taco Bell’s Waffle Taco Review

    • Thanks Kathy, let me know what you think after you get one. I think I might like it better if it had a runny fried egg on it instead.

Leave a Reply

