Lobster Tale

Lobster1
So remember when I mentioned on my facebook page that I didn’t have a romantic Valentine and I was going to treat myself really well and I encouraged others to love themselves? I was really excited that I had decided to cook myself a lobster dinner because my local grocery store had lobster tails on sale for $5.00 each in honor of Valentine’s Day.

I think I was more excited by the prospect and the anticipation of eating lobster. Little did I think about the reality of the situation….

First of all this romantic dinner for me was supposed to commence on Friday night (Feb. 14th) However when I got to the market after work and purchased my lobster tails I was disappointed to discover they were frozen, so I had to postpone cooking my romantic dinner to myself until the lobster defrosted.

I’m not sure if any of you are aware of this little tidbit, but I am highly afraid of bugs. I don’t like them, they creep me out and I scream like a little girl if one happens to unexpectedly come near me or if I find a spider on the wall. Okay, so now you know that about me.

Time rolls around and I’m getting ready to prepare the lobster tails and I’m already feeling a bit squeamish, because it’s right at the moment when I’m rinsing the lobster tails in the sink that I get grossed out and I think THESE LOOK LIKE GIANT BUGS!!! How am I going to eat these???!!!

I persevere, and I seasoned the water with salt, pepper, garlic powder and cayenne pepper. I decided that I was going to steam them instead of boil them. Mind you, this is the 1st time I have attempted to cook lobster.

I steam them for approximately 10 minutes and then I remove them, plate them and take these lovely pictures.

Lobster2

In the meantime my cat is going bonkers because he has the nose of a bloodhound and he was outside until he smelled the delicious aroma of LOBSTER. So I let him into the house because he won’t stop meowing, and he meows loud enough to alert the whole neighborhood.

Now I’m perplexed on how to get the meat out of the tails, so I take my kitchen shears and I start to cut up the back of the tails. Now I’m doubly grossed out because these things have small legs attached, my cat is going crazy and won’t leave me alone, he’s weaving in and out of my legs, at one point he taps me on my leg as if to say, “Hurry up, I want some lobster!” So I take one bite of the lobster and then a second bite and I decide, yeah that’s it, I’m done. I don’t like the texture or the flavor (Maybe because this is only the 4th or 5th time in my life that I’ve ever eaten lobster.

Lobster3

Needless to say my cat enjoyed my romantic Valentine’s feast. See for yourself.

GKEatingLobsterGK.jpg

As for me, I’m on my way to In-N-Out Burger.

2 thoughts on “Lobster Tale

Leave a Reply

